Membership Meeting Minutes

November 12, 2017

Board Members Present: Ernie Shumbat, Tim Wood, Brian Shearer, Brian Heller, Chris Bender, Chris Iachini, Kevin Edler, Wes Zeisloft, and Susan Iachini

Twenty-one members and 23 guests attended the Pre-Season Snowmobiler Roundup at the Hughesville Fire Hall.

President Ernie Shumbat opened the membership meeting with the pledge of allegiance.

He welcomed and thanked the group for attending.

Chris Iachini made a motion to accept the meeting minutes from July 20, 2017 meeting, second by Tim Wood. Motion passed.

Treasurer Brian Shearer made an informal report stating that our balance was approximately \$4,500.00 as of November 12, 2017. He noted that the Budman Ride has \$2,600 available for donations. The club has given approximately \$12,000.00 this past year to local charities and individuals.

Election of Officers:

Nominations were received as follows:

President: Brian Shearer Secretary: Susan Iachini Sergeant of Arms: Jake Wood Trustee (2019) – Travis Walters Trustee (2019) – Chris Bender No other nominations were received. Slate of officers accepted as nominated. Since the position of Treasurer would be open when Brian Shearer becomes President, Wes Zeisloft was appointed to Treasurer for 2018.

It was suggested that before the books are transferred to another officer that they be internally audited. Susan Iachini, Brian Shearer, and Wes Zeisloft will meet to take care of this process.

Committee Chairs for ATV events and Snowmobile Hillclimb are as follows:

Chris Bender ATV

Matt Frye and Jake Wood will co-chair the Snowmobile Hillclimb.

New Business:

Ernie asked the group for comments or suggestions:

It was stated that Jim Rupert a landowner in the Hughesville area will not allow snowmobiles to cross his property. Matt Frye will contact him on behalf of the club. Matt will also obtain names of the additional insureds so that this can be given to landowners upon request.

Old Business:

Chris Bender reported on the Summer Points Series. The series was a combination of CPAST and Pine Creek 4 Wheelers. Each club held two events and gave points for participation and winners. The event had 224 participants, 43 were children 14 and under. Each participant gave \$1.00 for each event entered into a series kitty. The kitty paid for trophies and payouts. Chris Bender made a trophy for the overall winner. Travis Walters was the overall winner. Chris reported that groups of riders came from all over the

state and even some from Maryland. The club realizes that the events need to have more volunteers and committees need to be better structured in order to make a better event.

It was also suggested that these events maybe more successful if they have a charitable benefactor.

For the good of the order:

The board is still looking to create a club sponsorship package for vendors instead of asking for several donations all year long. Mike Getz was in attendance he stated that Best Line does not mind being asked several times a year. He suggested that we let people and vendors know what we have been doing – our charitable donations speak volumes to the kind of club we are. He said that the certificates and letters of acknowledgement are nice as well. Wes Zeisloft asked if Best Line would be interested in hosting an evening event for our club. He stated that he would consider. That could be the location of a membership meeting.

Chris Iachini thanked Ernie for his service as President and the other members of the board as well. He hopes that with new board members it will bring fresh ideas and breathe new life into our club.

Ernie wanted to go on record with his suggestion that Board Members do not pay a membership fee for the time that they serve on the board. No action was taken.

The board should also hold membership meetings by quarter. A schedule can be created and distributed with new membership cards.

Next board meeting is December 14, at 7:00 p.m. location TBD.

Chris Iachini made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 5:56 p.m., second Tim Wood. Motion passed.

Respectfully submitted,

Susan Iachini, CPAST Secretary